March 25, 2018

Indian Railways to redevelop 90 stations across the country to enhance passenger amenities and give stations an aesthetic makeover, showcasing local culture & history

Ministry of Railways

Ministry of Railways plans upgradation of 90 stations showcasing local culture or history

                                                                                                                               Posted On: 23 MAR 2018 4:48PM by PIB Delhi

            In an attempt to increase passenger amenities and to give an aesthetic makeover to the most visited stations across Indian Railways, Ministry of Railways has formulated the plan to redevelop 90 stations across Indian Railways. The redevelopment plan of 90 stations is assigned to different zones/ nodal agencies. Given that some stations are important pilgrimage hubs and report over 45,000 footfalls per day, Indian Railways would strive to ensure that passenger’s get best services at the stations even during peak seasons.

It may be noted that Indian Railways is in the process of redevelopment of more than 600 stations. While doing this, efforts would be made to showcase local culture or history to reflect in the station façade. For instance Aurangabad station is to be developed on lines of Ajantha or Ellora, Agra station is to be developed on lines of Taj Mahal, Ujjain station is to be developed on lines of Mahakaleshwar temples, Nagpur station to have a big orange in the premises. Since Belgaum has history of Mahatma Gandhi visiting there, Belgaum station to have a big Charkha at the front. Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) is keeping elements of local heritage in facade/redevelopment of station buildings. For instance in Charbagh (Lucknow) elements of existing heritage building are incorporated in second entry NE Rly station, similarly in Gomti Nagar, elements of Awadh culture with Jali wok has been incorporated, in Triputi station, Lord Tirumala temple design has been incorporated, in Pondicherry, French colonial architectural elements are provided. Similar action will be taken for Goa Kota Nellore Ernakulam stations.

List of Stations to be upgraded:

Sr No.StationStateExecuting Agency
1TirupatiAndhra PradeshNBCC
2NelloreAndhra PradeshNBCC
3VisakhapatnamAndhra PradeshZonal Railway
4GunturAndhra PradeshZonal Railway
5GuntakalAndhra PradeshZonal Railway
6Kurnool CityAndhra PradeshZonal Railway
7VijayawadaAndhra PradeshZonal Railway
8GuwahatiAssamZonal Railway
9New TinsukiaAssamZonal Railway
10RangiyaAssamZonal Railway
11PatnaBiharZonal Railway
12Bapudham MotihariBiharZonal Railway
13HajipurBiharZonal Railway
14PatliputraBiharZonal Railway
15SonpurBiharZonal Railway
17BilaspurChhattisgarhZonal Railway
18RaipurChhattisgarhZonal Railway
19RajnandgaonChhattisgarhZonal Railway
21Anand ViharDelhiIRSDC
23Delhi MainDelhiZonal Railway
24Sarai RohillaDelhiNBCC
28AhmedabadGujaratZonal Railway
29RajkotGujaratZonal Railway
30VadodraGujaratZonal Railway
31Bhavnagar CityGujaratZonal Railway
32ValsadGujaratZonal Railway
33AmbalaHaryanaZonal Railway
34ShimlaHimachal PradeshZonal Railway
35Jammu TaviJammu & KashmirZonal Railway
36RanchiJharkhandZonal Railway
37BarkakanaJharkhandZonal Railway
38YeshwantpurKarnatakaZonal Railway
39MysuruKarnatakaZonal Railway
40DharwadKarnatakaZonal Railway
41Ernakulam Jn.KeralaNBCC
42KozhikodeKeralaZonal Railway
43KottayamKeralaZonal Railway
44PalakkadKeralaZonal Railway
45HabibganjMadhya PradeshIRSDC
46JabalpurMadhya PradeshZonal Railway
47BhopalMadhya PradeshZonal Railway
48ItarsiMadhya PradeshZonal Railway
49RatlamMadhya PradeshZonal Railway
50BurhanpurMadhya PradeshZonal Railway
51Shivaji NagarMaharashtraIRSDC
52LonawalaMaharashtraZonal Railway
53SholapurMaharashtraZonal Railway
54IgatpuriMaharashtraZonal Railway
55WardhaMaharashtraZonal Railway
56PuneMaharashtraZonal Railway
57BhubaneswarOdishaGovt. of Odisha
58CuttackOdishaZonal Railway
59SambalpurOdishaZonal Railway
60JharsugudaOdishaZonal Railway
63JaipurRajasthanZonal Railway
64UdaipurRajasthanZonal Railway
65BikanerRajasthanZonal Railway
66JodhpurRajasthanZonal Railway
67MaduraiTamil NaduZonal Railway
68Chennai EgmoreTamil NaduZonal Railway
69TiruchchirappalliTamil NaduZonal Railway
70SalemTamil NaduZonal Railway
71WarangalTelanganaZonal Railway
72MughalsaraiUttar PradeshZonal Railway
73GomtinagarUttar PradeshNBCC
74LucknowUttar PradeshNBCC
75AllahabadUttar PradeshZonal Railway
76JhansiUttar PradeshZonal Railway
77MathuraUttar PradeshZonal Railway
78Varanasi CityUttar PradeshZonal Railway
79Varanasi JnUttar PradeshRITES
80AyodhyaUttar PradeshRITES
81IzzatnagarUttar PradeshZonal Railway
82GorakhpurUttar PradeshZonal Railway
83DehradunUttarakhandZonal Railway
84HaridwarUttarakhandZonal Railway
85AsansolWest BengalZonal Railway
86HowrahWest BengalZonal Railway
87SealdahWest BengalZonal Railway
88DarjeelingWest BengalZonal Railway
89AlipurduarWest BengalZonal Railway
90AdraWest BengalZonal Railway



Subscribe to Newsletter